Can we start all over again?

It’s interesting how people firstly meet one another, get to know each other, feel comfortable with the other’s presence, start compromising each weakness, but finally decided to go their own way.

Then,  after feeling tired of searching another, at one point, one asks the other, “Can we start all over again?”

Well, can you?

We did start as strangers, I knew nothing about you, and you had no idea of who I am. I know each of us gave it a try; there was once this willingness to know you more. Maybe it’s my nature of curiosity: I’d always like to know more about something, or someone.

I’ve ever gone that far to finally understand who you are: your strengths and weaknesses, your like and dislike, your ups and downs of life. But I know that my understanding has never been sufficient to understand you completely. There will always be a part of you that I don’t understand. Let’s call it the void.

There comes the time when we were tired of one another; when the things we understand is not sufficient to tolerate each other’s void. I, then, happened to think that maybe your void is greater than my understanding. And, as we go, this void is getting bigger. I, the one who used to believe having much understanding on you, now has thought of the opposite. I might not have understood you well.

Long-story short, we said goodbye.

… but now if you ask me whether we can start all over again. You know, my answer is obvious. I can’t. It was not because I am afraid of the void. Neither was it because I am tired of compromising your weaknesses. But after all we’ve been through, I could not place you as the stranger of my life. I could not pretend that I know nothing about you. I don’t have an overwhelming dose of curiosity on you anymore.

Besides, I could not pretend that I don’t love you.

Leave a comment